Blog Elul: Prompt 5: Accept

Accept

When in life do we accept what is and stop fighting and when do we keep going? Do you need a break to recharge your batteries? Taking time out and re-examining ourselves can often help us accept the things in our life that are difficult, that we don’t want to be true or that doesn’t seem like reality.

The serenity prayer can teach a lot about acceptance. “G-d grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.”

Anxiety has been a constant battle for me my whole life. Whether I can or cannot accept things hasn’t been my issue. A fear of the unknown often turns the best of us into cowards.

The wisdom to know the difference has been constant struggle. That difference has often caused me just to not even attempt to change what I can change or accept what I cannot.

By not even attempting to what I can often leads to much bigger problems or lost opportunities. By working on ourselves to become stronger mentally to minimize anxiety gives us a better chance to accept what we cannot change, the courage to change what we can and hopefully a chance to grow and learn the wisdom to know the difference.

Leave a Reply

