30 Days of Gratitude: Day 8: Struggle

The old saying is that what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. Almost everyone goes through struggles in their own way. Learning how to cope with our struggles is a major part of life.

My entire life has felt like a struggle. With few exceptions in my life, I have not felt like I fit into most places I am. From my family and fraternity in college to most of the group of friends I have had and in most workplaces I have struggled to fit in.

I am therefore incredibly grateful for those in my life that relationships come naturally with. I have learned that there will be a precious few people in life most of us will have a special connection with. When you find that it’s a true blessing and one that’s hard to let go of. We all want to be accepted for who we are and not have to struggle to get there.

As I have discussed frequently, I also struggle with anxiety and depression. It’s mild on many levels. I am grateful it’s not worse. I don’t have panic attacks and have not needed hospitalization.

That has also been a curse and something others have struggled to understand. I’ve been called lazy, sweetness facetiously and looked at like I am too negative. I often struggle to understand myself. It’s something I try to evolve at every day. I search for my purpose and meaning in life. What I thought was my true life’s purpose was taken from me.

Writing is something I would like to be able to do full-time. The struggle to get there as a full-time job is something I have been working on for over ten years. I am constantly learning about what it takes to be a writer.

In the meantime, I am grateful for the opportunities I have writing.

Leave a Reply

