30 Days of Gratitude: Day 10: Intuition

We all have intuition on when and when not to do something. How often should we trust our instincts even if it defies logic?

For years I have battled my logical mind versus my emotional mind. Two years ago I learned about mindfulness. Mindfulness is almost taking intuition a step further. Dictionary.Com defines mindfulness as:

1. the state or quality of being mindful or aware of something.
2. Psychology. A technique in which one focuses one’s full attention only on the present, experiencing thoughts, feelings, and sensations but not judging them:

The practice of mindfulness can reduce stress and physical pain.
the mental state maintained by the use of this technique.

If intuition is going with our gut instinct, then mindfulness is being aware of that the instinct is and focusing on the present and making a decision.

Intuition can be closer to the emotional or practical/logical mind. It likely depends on the person. I tend to be more of an emotional thinker. Mindfulness and social media have taught me the importance of thinking things through and not always rely on intuition and an initial response.

I am grateful for social media in many ways. It has allowed me to make many new friends and reconnected with numerous old ones. In the past, I would usually just respond right away when I saw something online. If something sparked my interest either negatively or positively my intuition was to respond right away.

Now I often trust a second intuition. Sometimes while I am typing a response to someone’s post it might not feel like the right thing to say. I think it through and either don’t respond at all or given myself time to think it through and use a combination of intuition and mindfulness to make a decision on what to say.

I grateful that I have grown in this area. I am beginning to try to do this in my daily life as well. It can be difficult. My intuition is frequently controlled by anxiety. My intuition with my anxiety is to keep myself out of situations that I will feel uncomfortable or that takes me out of my comfort zone. It’s

My intuition is frequently controlled by anxiety. My intuition with my anxiety is to keep myself out of situations that I will feel uncomfortable or that takes me out of my comfort zone. It’s something I am working on and need to continue to work on.

Intuition is the way we think innately. It’s that way our personalities are when we are born. That doesn’t mean we cannot evolve, change the way we think innately and challenge our own intuitions. We all can and should continue to evolve throughout our lifetimes. I am grateful at the opportunity to continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

