30 Days of Gratitude: Day 13: Food

Food can bring out the simplest and most complex of emotions. To some, it’s a means to an end, something we must do to survive, to others it can mean everything.

Food brings me a lot of comfort. I am grateful to be able to afford food. It’s more than just about eating good food. The ability to cook is important to me. Making something good and learning and growing in my ability to cook is a huge key in my life.

For me, cooking is comforting, is goes beyond the actual food. The entire process from shopping through eating something that comes out good makes me feel good. It gives me confidence and pride. Grocery shopping is my version of retail therapy.

Food is a major component of most holidays for most of us. The last two years I have spent almost every holiday alone. I have had very few invites from friends or family to spend holidays with others.

Spending holidays would get many people down. The only holiday I make sure not to be alone is New Year’s Eve. The rest of the holidays have given me a chance to learn how to cook food that is relevant to that holiday.

The last two thanksgivings I have particularly enjoyed. I made a turkey burger with craisins in it topped with smashed sweet potatoes. This past Thanksgiving I made a Turkey breast with sweet potatoes and the other things associated with holidays.

I have cooked on other holidays as well. I made chicken wings for the Superbowl. Think of a holiday and what would be appropriate to eat and I try to make it. It’s comforting to be able to do that.

When I had custody of my children I would try to do something special for every holiday. It’s fun and can also be an opportunity to teach them about various cultures. We always had fun with it.

Some of the food excursions and things we made included Italian Ice, Corned Beef on St. Patrick’s Day and Paczkis from our Polish Nanny on Fat Tuesday.

Food is a major part of my life. Whether I am alone or with friends and loves ones it always gives me a sense of comfort and makes me feel grateful.

Leave a Reply

