30 Days of Gratitude: Prompt 21: Body

Maintaining a healthy body is an important part of living a quality life. I have been fortunate for most of my life to have a metabolism to allow me to be relatively thin.

Being active and exercising was something that my father always stressed growing up. I have not been as diligent as an adult, particularly¬†when the weather isn’t conducive to working out outside.

I was also extremely fortunate to have a good metabolism for most of my life. Once I hit 30 I had to start watching what I ate more often. I am far from perfect but have to watch what I ate far more often.

My personal relationship with my body is far greater and healthier than it is with my mind. Had my mind been better and I had healthier mentally, my body would likely be in better shape.

My anxiety frequently makes it difficult for me to have the drive to get things done. That includes working out. Everything is intertwined. In order to have a happy life, we need to take care of our health in numerous ways.

Taking care of our body means many things. Some of the things we need to do are get regular checkups, maintain cleanliness, eat well and exercise.

Some people claim they don’t like to exercise. We exercise in many ways to keep our bodies healthy. It can be as simple as parking at the back of the parking lot or getting off a stop early at work and taking the stairs instead of an elevator.

The ability to trace how much we are working out and where our bodies are at have evolved immeasurably with technology. Through fit bits and/or apps we can trace our steps, miles workouts and the routes we take. It gives us an idea how far we travel, where are heart rates are and virtually everything else we need to keep a healthy relationship with our bodies.

As technology evolves the things we will be able to do to keep positive relationships with our bodies should become more advanced. Let’s hope it allows more body positivity and for people to lead healthier lives.

Leave a Reply

