30 Days of Gratitude: Day 27: Enjoyment

How we get enjoyment out of life is different for everyone.

What makes someone tick, what makes them happy and what drives them is what makes us all different. I have been on an eternal search for enjoyment throughout my life.

There is the general enjoyment of being happy with where we are in our lives and the secondary enjoyment about being able to find and do activities through which we find enjoyment.

The thing I wanted more than anything in life was to find love, get married and raised a family together. I was fortunate enough to have that for part of my life before my ex-filed for divorce and then got custody of our kids.

I now have to seek out other ways to find enjoyment in my life. I do little things to get enjoyment out of life. Being able to make myself a good meal, spending time in nature hiking, watching TV shows and sports that I enjoy, seeing live music and spending time with friends are ways that I am able to get enjoyment out of life.

I am fortunate to have friends that check in on me and some to go out with to be able to enjoy myself and momentarily forget about what I have lost in my life.

The constant battle within myself is being able to enjoy myself. My mind tends to go more towards what’s missing than what I have. I do have the ability to be silly with certain people and make myself laugh. I am grateful I am able to do that.

I have been spending the time trying to do things I have always wanted to do but never did and other things to get to know myself better. Some I have enjoyed, others made me feel like an outsider. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to at least try to enjoy myself doing them.

Leave a Reply

