30 Days of Gratitude: Bonus Prompt 6: Purpose

Finding a purpose in life helps us to appreciate the life we have been given.

Purpose gives us a sense of accomplishment, a goal(s) to work for, an identity, a stronger sense of self and stronger self-esteem.

Some people have innate sense of purpose, while other might search their entire life for a sense or purpose. Most people fall somewhere in between.

My sense of purpose in my life has been tied to a few things. The two main ones revolve around being a husband and father and the other is media and sports.

I was nearly 12 when my parents brought my sister home from the hospital. I instantly bonded with her and helped my mom to take care of her in various ways.

As I watched her grow up it made me realize how much I wanted to be a father. That was also around the same time I was beginning to learn about women. From the time I was in 13 in seventh grade, I had wanted a girl/woman to notice me.

As I made my way through Junior High, High School, College and into adulthood my entire method of dating revolved around wanting to find the right woman to fall in love with and raise a family together.

My sister was born the summer between my fifth and sixth-grade years. I remember getting a record player with a microphone around that time. I was a big sports fan from as early as I can remember.

My dream was to combine those two interests and work in radio with something relating to sports. Sports talk stations were still about 15 years away at that point. I dabbled in writing on and off from eighth grade through right after college.

The biggest pull I felt with a sense of purpose was that of being a husband and father. It took me until I was 33 to get into a serious long-term relationship. We dated for two years before getting engaged.

Our first child was born nearly five years after we went out on our first date. Being in a relationship and having someone special to share my life and create a family together was the realization of more than two decades of dreaming to get there.

After nine years of marriage and over 11 years together my ex filed for divorce. Losing her was devastating. Three and a half years later she got custody of our children. I had lost everything I dreamt of having a nightmare come to life.

It made me re-examine my life’s purpose. Being in radio was something that never materialized despite a few attempts to get there. Writing has become my biggest purpose in life for the time being.

Writing helps me to organize my thoughts and connect with others who have similar interests and who might have been through other difficult circumstances in life.

Many people do not find their place in life until later. I hope to make writing my profession. It provides me with a sense of accomplishment, an ability to connect with others and helps me to feel good about myself.

 

Leave a Reply

