30 Days of Gratitude: Bonus Prompt 12: Wonder

Dealing with anxiety, the sense of wonder is a constant. This works in both positive and negative ways.

My mind is always working. I am constantly thinking. This works in both positive and negative ways.

I consider myself an information hound. When I am unsure about something that interests me, I usually wonder enough about it to look it up. Growing up I use to read the encyclopedia.

I now use Google or Wikipedia to look something up that I wonder about. By doing this I learn about something that I didn’t know before. This can often increase a sense of wonderment about something related to what I looked up in the first place.

It’s important for all of us to have a sense of wonder about the world. The internet has made the world a much more accessible place. When we wonder about something, we now have supercomputers at our fingertips to look something up or connect with someone thousands of miles away.

The negative aspects of wonder are something I constantly battle with. The unknown is something that is an internal struggle that often goes on in my brain.

The list of second guessing and wondering what is going to happen is seemingly endless for me. It can involve applying for a job, trying to get new clients, making an important phone call or attempting to kiss a woman after a first date.

In anxiety, wonder is a constant. The Wikipedia page for Wonder says:

“French philosopher, mathematician, scientist, and writer René Descartes (1596–1650) described wonder as one of the primary emotions because he claimed that emotions in general are reactions to unexpected phenomena. He noted that when people first encounter a surprising or new object, “… this makes us wonder and be astonished at it”. Descartes therefore propounded that “Wonder is the first of all the passions.”

There are many beautiful senses of wonder in life. We always have a sense of wonder early in a relationship. We learn more about our partners as a relationship evolves. Their likes, dislikes and discovering them intellectually and physically.

When we enter the world we all have an almost daily sense of wonderment. Being able to see the world through a child’s eyes is an ever evolving sense of wonder. Children see the world in a different way and are almost always wondering about something.

Wonder gives us all a sense of learning and exploring the world. Without it, we would stay in our own communities, own comfort zones and life would be far more boring.

Leave a Reply

